Bangkok Art Bienalle, June 8, 2022

"The Bangkok Art Biennale Foundation is pleased to announce twenty-three new artists and four more venues for the third edition of the Bangkok Art Biennale (BAB) taking place from 22 October 2022 to 23 February 2023. This second announcement expands the Biennale’s line-up to 43 leading regional and international artists and 11 venues across the city’s cultural and heritage sites.

This edition’s theme CHAOS : CALM invites artists to contemplate the tumultuous conditions of the world around us as communities recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, and grapple with urgent climate crises and socio-political uncertainties around the globe. By exploring the binary opposites of chaos and calm, the Biennale aims to reflect on the confusing world we live in and offer glimpses of hope through art; celebrating a diversity of identities, cultures, and histories, and mapping a shared vision for our new post-pandemic world.


Highlight presentations include a site-specific presentation of new sculptures by the British artist Antony Gormley in one of Bangkok’s most iconic heritage sites, the Temple of the Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), the first presentation of Qatari-American artist and filmmaker Sophia Al-Maria in Thailand, as well as spotlights on important Thai artists Satu ≠ Padu Collaborative (also known as Prach Pimarnman), Kamin Lertchaiprasert, and Chitti Kasemkitvatana. In addition to the artists and collectives selected by BAB 2022’s curatorial team, the Bangkok Art Biennale also includes chosen applicants from the Open Call program that was launched in November 2021. 

The second list of participating artists and collectives range from the emerging to the established, with representation from across Asia, Europe, Oceania, Africa and America, including: Sophia Al-Maria (US / Qatar), APY Art Centre Collective (Australia), Wendimagegn Belete (Ethiopia), Stephanie Jane Burt (Singapore), Alicia Framis (Spain), Antony Gormley (UK), Damien Jalet and Gilles Delmas (France / Belgium), Chitti Kasemkitvatana (Thailand), Mari Katayama (Japan), Kamin Lertchaiprasert (Thailand), Marcello Maloberti (Italy), Jakrawal Nilthumrong (Thailand), Nengi Omuku (Nigeria), Mongkol Plienbangchang (Thailand), Tazeen Qayyum (Canada / Pakistan), Satu ≠ Padu Collaborative (Thailand), Timur Si-Qin (US / Germany), Maitree Siriboon (Thailand), Aor Nopawan Sirivejkul (Thailand), Kawita Vatanajyankur (Thailand), Pitchapa Wangprasertkul (Thailand), Yee l-Lann (Malaysia), and Vadim Zakharov (Russia).